Walking games
WalkScape alternatives you can install today
Short answer: you can get into WalkScape itself today if you pay. WalkScape's own help page says Patreon and Buy Me a Coffee supporters get an instant invite, while most free applicants wait a few months. If you would rather install something now, HarvestStep is the closest match we found on the App Store, with seven gathering skills fed by your steps.
WalkScape has a waiting list, and that is the usual reason to search for an alternative. They want the RuneScape-style skill grind powered by walking, and they cannot get in yet. This page starts with the access facts from WalkScape's own site, then compares the walking RPGs you can install today by skills and levels.
We make Chonky Corgo, which appears in the table with its weakness written down. Chonky Corgo is a story and combat game rather than a skill grind, and the table says so plainly.
Can you play WalkScape right now?
Yes, if you are willing to pay or to wait. WalkScape's home page says the game is in closed beta, open to invited applicants and to supporters. WalkScape's help page says most applicants get an invite after a few months, and Patreon or Buy Me a Coffee supporters get one straight away. iPhone players install it through TestFlight.
The free route, per the same help page, takes three steps:
- Create an account in the WalkScape portal and verify your email address. The help page warns that the verification email sometimes lands in spam.
- Open the Account page and choose Apply for beta access.
- Wait for an invite by email. WalkScape sends a limited number at a time.
Supporters link their Patreon or Buy Me a Coffee account on the same Account page instead. On Android the game comes through Google Play. Either way, the honest first answer to this search is that you can pay to play WalkScape today.
When will WalkScape leave closed beta?
WalkScape has not given a date. WalkScape's help page, last updated in June 2025, lists trading, quests and combat as the features it needs before leaving closed beta. The developer's devblog of 1 October 2026 set trading for 7 October 2026. No open-beta date had been announced as of 4 October 2026.
What will WalkScape cost when it launches?
WalkScape's help page describes three tiers. A free area, playable at no cost. An offline mode bought once, with future content updates and no multiplayer. And an online mode on a monthly subscription, with every multiplayer feature. The help page also promises no microtransactions or advertisements, but gives no prices yet.
What makes WalkScape different from other walking games?
WalkScape is a skill grind in the spirit of RuneScape. Steps become work, work completes actions such as cutting a birch tree, and actions train more than 15 skills, according to its home page. WalkScape's help page promises no GPS, progress while the app is closed, and a game balanced around opening it every 1,000 to 10,000 steps.
The step math is public, which most walking games cannot say. WalkScape's devblog explains that a birch tree takes 30 work, so 30 steps with no gear, and that skill levels and gear lower the step cost down to a floor of 19 steps for that activity. Getting better at a skill makes your walking go further.
Which WalkScape alternatives can you install today?
Four App Store games come closest, because your steps feed a skill or character grind in each: HarvestStep, Prado Traveler, SideQuest and Walking RPG: Hero health game. Orna is the pick if you can live with GPS. None of these listings states a level cap, and two of the four have fewer than 200 ratings.
| App | Skills or classes | Level cap | What steps power | Price (US) | Real weakness |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WalkScape (the benchmark) | More than 15 skills to level up, per its home page | Not stated on WalkScape's own site | Steps become work that completes actions | Free in closed beta, or instant access as a paying supporter. Planned: free area, one-time offline mode, monthly online plan | Invite only, with a wait of a few months unless you pay, and its help page lists combat as still missing |
| HarvestStep: Cozy Walking Game | 7 gathering disciplines, including fishing, mining, foraging, farming and lumber, with tool upgrades | Not stated by the developer | More steps mean more harvest attempts | Free. Premium $1.99 a month or $15.99 a year, gem packs from $0.99 to $49.99 | Gathering only, with no fights described, and only 13 ratings |
| Prado Traveler: Walking RPG | 3 classes (Warrior, Thief, Magician), plus mining, crafting and herb gathering | Not stated by the developer | Steps convert to energy for battles and gathering | Free. Supporter purchases from $4.99 to $99.99 | No Apple Watch app, and the listing puts battles first and crafting second |
| SideQuest: Walk and Level Up | Class advancement from Novice to Warrior, Wizard, Archer or Assassin, plus pets and crafting | Not stated by the developer | Every step earns XP | Free. Gem packs up to $49.99 and a $7.99 pass | No gathering skills described, and first released only in January 2026 |
| Walking RPG: Hero health game | A team of heroes with equipment, plus an arena | Not stated by the developer | Steps convert to energy that levels up heroes | Free. Monthly passes at $6.99 and $9.99, crystal packs | A hero-team battler rather than a skill grind, with monthly passes on top |
| Orna: Fantasy RPG Adventure | More than 50 classes, each with its own skills | Not stated by the developer | Walking discovers locations, dungeons and enemies on a real map | Free, with in-app purchases | Needs location, which breaks WalkScape's no-GPS promise |
| Chonky Corgo (ours) | 39 costumes, each teaching 1 skill of 5 kinds, such as Extra Loot or Faster Rest. One is active at a time | Trail level 100 in version 2.0, about 365 goal days away | 250 steps charge one attack on the day's monster | Free. Chonky Club $2.99 a month, Gems, playsets, No Banner Ads $5.99 | A story and combat game, not a skill grind: no gathering or crafting skills, and no ratings yet |
The empty level-cap column is a finding in itself. WalkScape fans care about how deep the grind goes, and not one installable alternative publishes its cap. Chonky Corgo's cap is in the table only because we can read our own code. Treat every other depth claim as unchecked until you play.
Which alternative is closest to WalkScape?
HarvestStep, on paper. HarvestStep's listing describes steps as currency for harvest attempts across seven gathering disciplines, more than 300 items to collect and a forge for upgrading tools. That is close to the gathering side of WalkScape. HarvestStep is also young, first released in March 2026, with 13 ratings by 4 October 2026.
If what you miss is fighting rather than gathering, Prado Traveler and SideQuest lean that way, with classes and battles. The genre is bigger than this table: our census in what is a walking RPG found 16 walking RPGs on the US App Store, most of them released in 2026.
Is Chonky Corgo a WalkScape alternative?
Only partly, and we would rather say so than stretch the match. Chonky Corgo turns steps into combat and story, not into a skill grind. In version 2.0, every 250 steps charge an attack on the day's monster, and Trail levels run to 100. There are no gathering or crafting skills.
What Chonky Corgo has instead is a skill per costume, 39 of them in version 2.0, and a Main Story of 5 chapters. If a fight and a plot from scattered steps sounds better than a long grind, try it. If the grind is the point, HarvestStep or the WalkScape queue will suit you better.
Should you wait for WalkScape or play something now?
Do both. Applying to the WalkScape beta is free, and nothing stops you from walking with another game while you wait. Apple Health shares your step count with every app you allow, so two games can read the same walk. Supporting WalkScape gets you in today if you can afford it.
For the wider picture, the walking games guide shows what a 5,000-step day buys in each kind of game. If a GPS game such as Orna tempts you, walking apps like Pokemon GO that do not need GPS covers what location costs you.
What else do people ask?
Three questions that come up while people wait for a WalkScape invite. The answers come from WalkScape's own home page, help page and devblog, and from App Store listings, all read on 4 October 2026, so check WalkScape's site for anything that has changed since.
- Is WalkScape on the App Store?
- Not as a public download. WalkScape's help page says the game is available through TestFlight on iPhone and Google Play on Android, as a closed beta. You need an invite, or you can support the developer on Patreon or Buy Me a Coffee for instant access.
- Does WalkScape use GPS?
- No. WalkScape's help page lists no GPS as a design goal. WalkScape uses the pedometer in your phone, so it works on a treadmill or walking around the house, and it tracks progress while the app is closed.
- Will WalkScape be free?
- Partly. WalkScape's help page plans a free area for everyone, a one-time purchase for an offline mode, and a monthly subscription for online play with multiplayer. The help page gives no prices yet, and it promises no microtransactions or advertisements.